This Old House

April 21, 2014

Sometime last night when I couldn’t sleep, I started thinking about the house I grew up in, the memories that I have there. Maybe it’s because we’re trying to turn our house into a home right now. It’s where our little guy will lay down his first memories.

There are so many small things about that house at 8 Walnut Avenue–the floor boards in the hallway that had the nails sticking up that snagged so many pairs of white tube socks over the course of the ’80s. There’s the kitchen island where I sat to do my homework in the evenings, and the table a few feet away where we ate dinner every single night, until later when both of my brothers were in college or beyond and my dad came home from work late and my mom and I sat on the back stoop and ate there with our plates in our laps in the slanty summer light.

Those summer days make me think of my bedroom, too, the warm air filtering in. Not the angsty bedroom I had to move to in the attic when I was in seventh grade and my mom wouldn’t let me tack posters to the walls (the wall paper was too expensive, she said, and then she got rid of it anyway), but the room that was mine and pink with flowers and strawberries on the walls when I was little and then and then mine again and pale and striped and pretty when I was in high school. In the early days there were barbies thrown down the hall and long phone cords stretched to different places around the house, and the chintz covered living room that we never went into.

The big backyard hosted whiffle ball games and dunk contests and celebrations, and a batting cage when when my oldest brother thought he was going pro. It was a home, for sure. It’s exciting and daunting to try to build one of my own.

One Response to “This Old House”

  1. kitchen island design said

    Tuscany a region in north central Italy is known as a warm place almost year round an Tuscan kitchen design should reflect this.

    The project is not as simple as it looks, and it takes skill and experience to get
    it right. A large, fully loaded kitchen island can weigh hundreds of pounds.

Leave a Reply

