Food Policy and Challah

September 19, 2012

I’m thinking of re-tooling this blog, giving it a new focus. I heard Mark Bittman speak last night. Comforted by his strong New York twang, which I feel like I haven’t heard in far too long, I kept thinking about how much I really know about food policy, how much I truly care, and how much I think it’s intertwined with so many issues: obesity, the environment, labor rights and regulations, politics and the role of government. I’m not sure how much I can add to the discussion that wouldn’t be a resynthesizing of things that I have read, but perhaps I could say something new-ish, or figure out a new way to phrase something (isn’t that what so much of the internet is?).

There’s that. The restaurant has also kept me busy. My knife skills, I think, have improved and I’ve started working some service shifts, so come visit me! It’s been an exciting, fun, and fast-paced few months. Unfortunately,  I come home pretty tired, and I’m too in it, it’s hard to tease out the parts that might be interesting and write-able. As I get more used to it, I’ll share more.

In the meantime, I made a small Rosh Hashana dinner on Sunday, including a fig, olive oil and sea salt challah, recipe courtesy of Smitten Kitchen. I was pretty proud, it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

