This Thing I’m Doing

August 25, 2012

I’ve been holding out on you and I’m sorry about that. I didn’t mean to be so mysterious, I just didn’t want to jinx anything. I wanted to make sure it was going well before I told you what I was doing and where I’m working. It’s one of those strange things of writing about your life, which I certainly have mixed feelings about as I think all writers should.

I’m working at Delfina, a restaurant in the Mission and so far it’s making me so, so happy. I basically get in at 9.30 in the morning and stand next to the head chef all day and do what he tells me to do. I already feel like I have learned a tremendous amount, not only about cooking (which can’t be overstated), but also about how restaurants work, how they plan their menu and do their ordering and decide where to buy their ingredients from. I’m starting to understand what happens when things go wrong and how they adjust. And the food? It’s crazy delicious.

I’m not exactly sure where this is all going, but I have a lot of ideas. I’ll keep you posted. For now I’m just learning as much as I possibly can.

Leave a Reply

