Cooling Off and Gearing Up

August 23, 2010

It’s been an embarrassingly long time since I’ve posted on my blog. Menina na Rio, I’m sorry for neglecting you. I’ve been both busy, outside playing, out and about (see last post) and also not really doing anything all that interesting. I realize, though, that you need something to read, something new.

It’s cool out today, a little overcast and rainy, and for some reason it reminds me of Sao Paulo (maybe because it rained every single day in January there.) It feels good after so much summer, a little broody, clean, quiet. I’m sure by this afternoon I’ll be ready for the sun to shine again, but for right now, it’s making me feel reflective. Also, my long stretch of nearly absolute freedom, of waking up and making my own day (something I found exasperating and aimless from time to time) is coming to to a close. My orientation for school starts a week from today, and while everyone says you’ll be in school, it’s different than work, I’m nervous. It reintroduces things into my life that have been largely absent for a while– commuting, meeting new people and starting again with trying to define who I am, setting my alarm clock, math. It’s a little daunting, and also pretty exciting. I just hope I can handle it.

After a year and half exploration and new cities, and gorgeous beaches (go look at the ‘In Pictures’ section of the blog), learning Portuguese and becoming part of a Brazilian family, and figuring out the next phase of life, and getting re-settled in Brooklyn and getting engaged (!), I hope my brain works in an academic way again. In a way that’s removed from dreamy places and searing heat, humidity and cut-off shorts, and Brazilian bikinis. I think it might sputter a bit at first.

Leave a Reply

