Bohemia and Transformation

May 21, 2010

I realize that I have been neglecting this blog.  For those of you who are still reading, I’ll keep writing. If there’s something you would like to see more of, let me know, or less of, let me know that, too.

Yesterday after catching up with Claire, then my dad, then my old boss, then my friend Suzie (it’s nice to have friends and other people in our lives), I went to a New York Historical Society lecture on how Greenwich Village came about, how it represented the art world and Bohemia in New York.  It was interesting to hear how the Sixth Avenue El train divided the tawdry, darker part of the city–with its own confusing grid–from the upscale Washington Square Park. About an hour ago I walked around that area with a slightly different view. It sad that so many of the beautiful buildings have been torn down.

As I was walking down said Sixth Avenue, a little higher up, in the low 20s, I walked past the old Limelight Club, which is now a super high-end sort of mall, an even fancier, more expensive Chelsea Market with food stalls, perfume boutiques, a Grimaldi’s coming soon, Petrossian. It’s sort of disgusting, and also fascinating how a church could become an ecstasy riddled nightclub which is later transformed into an overly precious bazar for over-priced cheese, gelato, soaps and bed linens.

Leave a Reply

