Running Through Brooklyn

May 14, 2010

Exploring Brooklyn by running is really fun–until it’s not.  I’ve been mapping routes on gmap-pedometer (today I brought my phone and tried out the Runtracker App for the first time–really cool), and then trying to follow those courses as best I can.  Now while gmap-pedometer is mostly really useful, it has its limitations.  It doesn’t tell you which streets are super crowded and commercial, full of fried-smelling fast food joints and vendors with tables of bootleg CDs, belts, cell phone covers.  It doesn’t tell you which side of Fort Greene Park butts up against projects and which side has spokes of pretty brownstones and leafy sidewalks.  I’m learning, but there were some precarious parts of my run today.  I’ve been back in sneakers, but it’s also clear that one has to be careful wearing vibrams around Brooklyn as well.

Leave a Reply

