Solitude

May 12, 2010

Today was the first day I spent a considerable amount of time alone in what feels like a long, long time.  Since we’ve gotten back from Brazil, Scott and I have spent pretty much every day together.  Even when we’ve done different things, we’ve been staying in houses where other people live, and have had to converse and interact, and in so many ways, at this point, we’re extensions of each other.  For months now, there’s been someone to say something to when I’ve had something to say. In Brazil, we were also constantly together, and when he left a few weeks before me, I was staying with Edite and Karen, who’s houses are full of people and conversation.  The days all had activities, planned by and including the sisters.  Then Lindsay came, and we were together for over a week. Language and talking poured out of both of us as we went to Juquehy and to Rio.  As close friends who hadn’t seen each other for a year, there was so much to say.

Scott had his first day of work today and it’s quiet here.  It’s been pleasant, lovely almost, the quiet, but it’s something to get used to again.  It’s the first time I’ve lived in New York without a job to go to every day.  I’m planning on spending the summer freelance writing and taking some pre-req classes for SIPA.  I think I have to get used to being alone again.  It’s been quite a long time.  It’s sort of shocking to me how foreign it feels.  I had always prided myself on being extremely independent, spending so much time by myself before I met Scott, in Vietnam and in New York.  I hadn’t realized that I was out of practice.  I never thought of it as a thing I would have to relearn.  But here I am, in a very quiet apartment, after spending much of the day by myself, readjusting.

2 Responses to “Solitude”

  1. Giovanna said

    Brooke,
    Wish I was there to keep you company!
    History test tomorrow, soooooooooo lame! I could really take a break from school!
    MISSING YOU A LOT

  2. meninanorio said

    I miss you too!! Come visit SOON! And you’ll be great at your history test.

    How is everything? Sammy? What’s new?

Leave a Reply

