New is New and What’s Old is New Again

May 10, 2010

This morning I got up and went to my old yoga studio, Exhale, in Soho. I’ve been to all of the Exhales so many times over the last five-ish years I lived in New York, post-Vietnam and pre-Brazil.  The Soho one was the one I went to most often in the last year or so before we left.  I would go in the morning and walk from there to the UNICEF office, down Crosby Street, or up from Water Street after work.  Today I left a full hour to get from Brooklyn to the Spring Street studio.  It was ridiculous.  I got to Fulton street in about three minutes and realized I still had an hour before class started, so I got out and walked up.  It’s amazingly fun for me to see New York, the most familiar city to me, with new, fresh eyes.  Walks that I grew so tired of seem interesting again.  I know it won’t last long, but it’s working for me for now.  It’s also fun to see the new things that pop up.

I noticed for the first time that there’s an Osklen down by the Patagonia store in Soho.  It was one of my absolute favorites in Rio, and I’m excited that the Brazilian chain has one in New York, too.

I also walked past a new surf shop on Crosby Street, which seems out of place, yet sort of cool.  I guess, in a way, it’s another Rio throwback, but this store doesn’t look like anything in Brazil.  A surf store for the Ditch Plains set, or for those who like to hang surfboards in their Soho lofts.

The last place that struck me as odd was this Soho Synagogue.  Huh?

So we’ll see how long it takes for me to realize where I actually live and how far, or really how close, it is to everything.  I’m sure the days of being an hour early for things will subside soon.

Leave a Reply

