Chazinha

March 2, 2010

When I wrote about Tiradentes yesterday, I forgot to mention one of the best things about our beautiful hotel: Afternoon Tea.  The hotel is owned by a British man and his Brazilian wife, and at 4.45pm every day, there’s traditional afternoon tea.  It was pouring rain here, and the strong black tea, made from loose leaves and served in a silver pot was entirely restorative.  There were also paes de queijo and small shortbread cookies, excellent strawberry jam.  It seemed so simple and civilized.

I’ve thought about opening a bed and breakfast for a long time and as we’ve stayed in all of these different places through our travels I’ve taken little mental notes about little touches that make such a difference to the guest.  If you’re a place that serves breakfast anyway, the cost of having tea must be so negligible, and it’s so nice.  Especially in a country where the custom is to eat dinner late.  I’m a fan.  Maybe it’s just my English side shining through.

3 Responses to “Chazinha”

  1. Angela said

    I have been reading your blog and your impressions about my home country give me such and warmth feeling – specially during this long winter season in Upstate NY. Thank you for your posts!

  2. HighTeaMan said

    I am an avid fan of afternoon tea, and it never ceases to amaze me how this relaxing and restorative ritual can appear in so many forms all over the globe. Thanks for writing.

  3. zzibaldone said

    We’d love to see a list of some of your favorite little hotels / bed&breakfast places you and Scott stayed during your travels! -suzanna

Leave a Reply

