Um Bom Dia

January 27, 2010

Today wound up being a surprisingly great day.  I had coffee with Carina this morning, my Argentinean friend who lives close by.  She’s an amazing wealth of knowledge and has tips about Sao Paulo and traveling, cooking, nearly everything.  I was especially jealous that she just got back from Rio and Buzios and ate at Venga!, our favorite tapas restaurant on Rua Dias Ferreira.  She’s a brave soul for trying to recreate the octopus dish at home.  I wish I had the balls to tackle cooking octopus.

From there Scott and I headed to the Centro.  It felt like it had been a while since we went up there, and I had forgotten how cool the area is around the Bovespa and Sao Bento.

I met with Hans, the head of Cidades Sem Fome, now that he’s back from his vacation in the South of Brazil with his family, and we talked about the next steps of my involvement, which feels like something I have been waiting for for months now.  I’m excited about going forward, and super excited for him, as he let me know that the mayor of Recife wants him to begin building gardens in the Northeast. He has plans for the south of the country, and he also got approached by the Mozambique government, who are interested in adopting the project in Africa.  I really think his organization is incredible and I’m proud to be a part of it.

From there, Scott and I sat in a restaurant while it rained that had the coolest chair rail tiles.

You can’t see the tiles that well in the picture, but they were all different patterns in shades of black, white and grey.  From there we wandered around a bit and found ourselves at the Praca de Republica and the Edificio Italiano.  It’s one of the taller buildings in Sao Paulo and is known for its killer views of the city.  By lucky coincidence, we happened to be there while the top floor was open to the public from 3 to 4pm.

The view was staggering.  I know that I had written along with a post that featured a picture of the view from our apartment that the Sao Paulo skyline gave me anxiety.  I still get sort of anxious–there are just so many buildings, but having gotten to know this city a little better, I’m more just in awe of it.

The wavy building in the bottom picture is the Edificio Copan and was built from 1957 to 1966, designed by Oscar Niemeyer and Carlos Alberto Cerqueira Lemos. It has 1,160 apartments, over 5,000 residents and has the largest floor area of any residential building in the world.

In a spur of the moment decision we decided to jump in a cab and head to the Museu do Futebol in the Estadio Pacaembu.  I don’t know why I expected a small museum–maybe because we’ve passed Pacaembu so many times on our way to Karen’s and Elen’s and Edite’s, or just because I knew it was tucked into the stadium, but it was incredible.  Brand new and super high tech, it had amazing interactive exhibits, took you through the great players, the different World Cups, the history of the game in Brazil. You could listen to announcers talk through the most memorable games and goals of all time. There was an area with a number of fooz ball tables set up in the different common soccer formations.  I was impressed.

After running and dinner, we’re just waiting for Obama’s speech.  I’m nervous for him, and hope that it goes well. Oh, also the other thing that happened today was I found out that my blog was nominated to be one of the top 100 Ex-Pat websites for 2010.  Starting February 1, I’m going to be pulling out every stop to get the most people voting for Menina na Rio as possible.  Seriously. Get ready.

4 Responses to “Um Bom Dia”

  1. Edite said

    Congratulations, you are the best.
    I wish you win …sure you will. Love you(but you should have come for a coffee, you were so near….)
    Love you,

  2. Barbara said

    I’ll rally the votes of the Alper/Behar clan with outreach to friends and co-workers, as well! Keep writing!

    Love,
    Barb

  3. Carina said

    Thanks for the comments. I love the pictures! You need to post more with pictures. I will vote and try to get voters for you.
    See you soon!

  4. Karen said

    wonderful news!
    I´ll gather people in Bahia to vote for you!!!
    Love
    Karen

Leave a Reply

