Suburban Girl

January 20, 2010

While I was at the gym today I watched a movie that was on some Brazilian station called Suburban Girl.  It starred Alec Baldwin and Sarah Michelle Geller, and was released in 2007.  I don’t remember it coming out.  It was vaguely entertaining (enough to hold my attention while on a treadmill), but generally awful.  Sarah Michelle Geller is a young publishing associate hoping to become a full-fledged editor and she falls for/ is seduced by Alec Baldwin, who is a publishing titan.  They have lunches at Michaels and quote Byron and Yeates, and walk into conversations at book parties where relationships are compared to the one between Hemingway and Fitzgerald. It’s a movie made for people like me–literary nerds, English majors.  The saddest part about the movie was that it was based on two stories from The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing, which I devoured in a single day on Venice Beach in 2000 when I visited Marshall in LA, dropped him off at work, and beelined to the sand.

It’s such a bizarre industry, and I now know that movies that don’t make it to the big screen sometimes wind up on Cine Pipoca in Brazil.  It’s competition?  Some movie I had never heard of a few channels away with Lisa Kudrow, Jennifer Garner, and Javier Bardem.

Leave a Reply

