Single Serving

January 18, 2010

I just got back from Pao de Acucar–I was picking up a few things for dinner– and there was a man in the express line in front of me.  He was in his mid-thirties and wearing a suit, the jacket a little rumpled in the back.  He was buying sandwich fixings–cold cuts, sliced cheese, two loaves of bread, a few tv-style dinners from the prepared foods section of the grocery and some yogurts.  I know I’ve written about this before, when I was behind two college-age girls at Zona Sul in Rio, but I feel like I just saw this man’s life for the next week.  His gym workouts in the morning, followed by a quick yogurt before he heads to his office on Faria Lima.  He may have been buying the sandwich components to take his lunch to work, but it’s more likely that he’s hungry when he gets home from work, and doesn’t meet friends for drinks and dinner until much later in the evening.  It’s the fastest thing he knows how to make, reliably.

It just such a strange zone, the check out line of a grocery store.

Leave a Reply

