Economics 101

January 12, 2010

My freshman year at college I decided it would be a good idea to take Macroeconomics. The class met early in the morning two days a week and my precept was at 9am on Friday mornings.  Alan Blinder taught the class.  Princeton offers students to take four PDF classes in their academic careers, where you can pass, get a D, or fail.  I took this class, cavalierly thinking it would be good for my general knowledge, and much to everyone’s chagrin, I got a  D.  It was shameful, and I went back  a week or two into June to try to argue my D into a pass, but it didn’t work.  So now, nearly ten years later, as I try to convince international relations masters programs to accept me, I’m taking economics again online.  A few pages into the introduction of my E-Textbook I feel the same apprehension, the same necessity to constantly remind myself to FOCUS.  I’m faced with the same economist jokes and quips and examples using blue jeans and widgets.  We’ll see if it goes down any better the second time around.

Leave a Reply

