Recognition

January 4, 2010

Sao Paulo flipped today.  We went from being temporary to slightly more permanent.  It’s hard to believe we’ve been here a month already.  We paid our bills–I can’t remember if I wrote about this while we were in Rio, but the Brazilian system is brilliant.  Your bills come in the mail–lights, internet, cell phone, whatever, and you can bring them to any bank–Itau, Bradesco, Unibanco, any of them–and just pay there.  Same goes for our rent.  I also just got recognized in the elevator for the first time, by another guest who’s living at the hotel.  He was a Brazilian who was in the paper business and worked in Wisconsin for a number of years.  He pegged me as foreign and said he recognized me from the gym.  That was followed directly by the woman at Starbucks asking if I lived in the hotel as well, and where I worked here in Sao Paulo.  New Year, new things, new places to settle, I guess.

Leave a Reply

