In the Neighborhood

November 17, 2009

I went for a run this morning and started listening to an NPR This American Life podcast about Going Big.  The first half hour was all about Jeffrey Canada and the Harlem Children’s Zone–an AMAZING organization.  I’m totally charmed by it, and thinking about how I can talk about them in my grad school essays when that segment ends and the next segment is about a guy who went to great lengths to win his girlfriend back.  He hires a musician, David Berkeley, to play for he and his girlfriend.  I’m a terrible sister, because I realize a couple of minutes through that this is a podcast that my brother produced in August.  Listen, it’s great.

I also ran into our Swedish Sommelier friend on my way back, which felt a little Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood, since we still don’t really know anyone here.

 

Leave a Reply

