Effectively Wild

September 2, 2009

I just learned what the phrase ‘effectively wild’ means in baseball, and I think it could apply to our last few days here in Rio.  It’s the first time since we’ve been here that Scott’s been in a down-phase from work and we haven’t been in school or had guests.  Each day is a somewhat blank slate, informed by the weather, our whims, and conference calls to further flesh out my ILRio projects followed by some work.  Some great things have come out of this randomness–I found a yoga place I like, I’m learning more about urban agriculture than I ever thought I would, and every conversation veers toward the apocalyptic “what am I going to do with my life.”

We have this conversation a lot, over and over again, and I hope our days will be effective and not just wild and aimless (I’m getting into the habit of making errands seem more important than they are).  I believe that we’re getting closer to answers.  Suggestions for me are welcome.

Also, as a side note, I just had a meeting with all of the ILRio people based in Rio and discovered, upon arriving home, that one of them is married to an international super model who was in the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue.  That information would have been useful before the meeting.  Oh, and his family owns the largest paper company in Brazil.

Leave a Reply

