A Moveable Feast

July 20, 2009

I just read A.E. Hotchner’s editorial in the New York Times today and I’m smitten with Hemingway all over again.  I wrote a lot about The Sun Also Rises in college and thought about him and his writing while I was in Vietnam for the year. Our ex-pat community formed and grew and shrank and grew again over those months and we drank very cold beers in different bars around the city and discovered things.  Hemingway’s in the forefront of my mind again as Scott and I discover Rio, too.  We sit in cafes–botequins, botecos– and drink frosty beers and talk about the cities we want to see and our next moves, a chess game where we’re on the same side playing against time, money, and experience.  If I’m lucky I’ll leave a trunk somewhere (the Ritz in Paris isn’t such a bad spot) to discover later, and even luckier if I manage to turn all of these bits of ideas into something that can be published sometime.

Leave a Reply

