The market and the day

June 30, 2009

IMG_0007IMG_0009

This market was on my way home from looking at an apartment today.  It was way more incredible than it looks in these paltry iphone pictures, but I was getting harassed to buy custard apples and mangos and papayas and so I didn’t want to pause too much.  It was awesome though, and if I had had money on me I would have bought said fruits. There were also some pictures of fish stands that didn’t come out at all… all blue and white striped awnings with glistening fillets and googly-eyed whole creatures with gills, just out of the sea not a hundred feet down the leafy, tree-lined street.

Also, looking for an apartment in Rio has been interesting.  I think at this point, every real estate broker who caters to tourists knows that we, my boyfriend and I, are looking for a one or two bedroom flat in Ipanema or Leblon, for the next year, with an outdoor space, high speed internet in a secure building.  We’ve been pushy in a way that only Americans can, and I swear that it’s only because we would like to unpack and get settled.

Leave a Reply

